Rowland and Lynn Scoop Top Prizes at 2011 Autosport Awards

2011 CERTINA Formula Renault 2.0 UK Championship winner, Alex Lynn and 2011 Protyre Formula Renault Finals Series champion, Oliver Rowland both went home with trophies at this year’s Autosport Awards, which took place yesterday, Sunday 4th December, in Central London.

Sheffield teenager, Rowland became the fourth successive Formula Renault driver to win the prestigious McLaren Autosport BRDC Award, and in doing so secured a test with the McLaren Formula 1 team, £100,000, membership to the BRDC, Puma racewear for a year, and more. The McLaren Autosport BRDC award has previously been won by the likes of Jenson Button, Paul di Resta, David Coulthard, and Dario Franchitti.

Also up for the McLaren Autosport BRDC Award was Fortec team-mateLynn, Scott Malvern, Emil Bernstorff, Dino Zamperelli, and Tom Blomqvist.

“I’ve had lots to learn in my first year of Formula Renault. I’ve learned a lot and now I’m here. I can’t believe it,” Rowland told Autosport magazine. 

“I don’t know what to say,” Rowland explained. “It’s been a difficult year for me. I lost someone very close to me in [karting guru] Martin Hines, who passed away this year. He’s helped me for six or seven years.”

“If it wasn’t for people like the Racing Steps Foundation and Richard Dutton and Fortec Motorsport then I wouldn’t be stood up here and I have to thank them.”

Lynn, who beat Rowland to this year’s Championship crown, had plenty to cheer too, taking the honour of British Club Driver of the Year. The 18-year-old had a hugely successful year, setting a new win record for the championship (12), and also taking 14 pole positions and 10 fastest laps en-route to the title.

In taking the award, Lynn beat some illustrious rivals, namely, Formula Ford champion Scott Malvern, AirAsia Renault Clio Cup UK title-winner Paul Rivett, Avon Tyres British GT driver Jonny Adam, Porsche Carrera Cup GB champion James Sutton, and Formula Renault BARC title-winner Dino Zamparelli.

“I just tried to do my best,” a jubilant Lynn told Autosport. “I think you realise when you have a season like that, that it doesn’t happen every year, so I tried to savour every moment and every lap in the lead.”

The 2012 CERTINA Formula Renault 2.0 UK championship begins at Brands Hatch on Saturday 31st March, please check http://bit.ly/fruk12aa for more details.

 

About frenaultuk

The CERTINA Formula Renault 2.0 UK is the country's leading single seater championship and has launched many Formula One racing careers.
This entry was posted in News. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

