Lynn wins amidst the spins

Alex Lynn (Fortec Motorsport) - Photo: Jakob Ebrey Photography

Fortec Motorsport’s Alex Lynn took a dominant victory by over eleven seconds in treacherous conditions at Croft for round ten of the Formula Renault 2.0 UK Championship today.

Lynn looked peerless as he stretched his lead at the head of the field as well as in the championship standings as rain fell midway through the 15 lap race at the north east circuit.

“It’s absolutely brilliant to get a win after yesterday’s poor result,” said Lynn who leaves Croft with a 58 championship points advantage.

“I made a good start and managed to gain a nice lead over the first few laps, but when the rain came it certainly made things tricky, especially as different parts of the track would be wet at different times.”

Whilst Lynn had no issues in the race, that was not the case for most of those following, save for second finishing Mitchell Gilbert who was also unhindered en route to his second podium of the season, best-placed finish as well as taking the Graduate win.

“I was quite disappointed with the start I made as it gave me a disadvantage on the first lap,” said the Fortec driver, “but by the end of the first lap I was showing good pace and was pleased to keep up with Lynn and push him. But when the rain came out Alex’s experience showed and he was able to pull out a good lead to give him the win.”

After his team-mate Alice Powell lost the position on the first lap due to misjudging the chicane with after knocking her tracking out, Manor Competition’s Jordan King took third, his best result of the year. “Things got very frantic for me off the start as I was quite late off the clutch,” said Jordan.

“Fortunately I still managed to make a good start and then managed to make up a position on the first corner. After that the first few laps were quite difficult due to lack of temperature in the tyres, but by the time the rain came on the fourth lap I really felt to grips with the car and showed great pace.”

Another driver making his best finish of the year was Fortec Motorsport’s Pedro Pablo Calbimonte, with Atech Reid GP’s Oscar King coming home fifth to equal his best previous finish.

“I made a pretty average start off the line,” said Oscar. “In the first few laps I had a moment coming out of Sunny Out as the conditions were very slippery. As the rain came down more I became very confident with the car and it had great pace. I’m happy with the progress made from the race as towards the end I set numerous fastest laps.”

Mark Burdett Motorsport’s Daniel Cammish finished sixth, his best place since joining at the last meeting. “I made a good start but it took a few laps for me to really get going in the race,” he said.

“As the conditions on the track started to change I felt that the pace of the car started to improve more and more. My race was really hindered when Wells exited the pits and failed to give way despite being two laps down.

“Overall I am very happy with my progress from the weekend as I now feel that I have gained enough experience from driving the car to go out and get a double podium at Snetterton.”

It was a bad day for the nearest driver to Lynn in the standing as Tio Ellinas who came home in seventh after earlier running in a strong third position.

“I’m very disappointed with how the race went for me,” said Ellinas “I felt that in the early stages of the race I was running consistently and the car felt good but then Rowland made contact with me at the hairpin with ended any chance of me being competitive. Hopefully I can put things right at Snetterton.”

Eighth, and the final driver to be running at the chequered flag was Atech Reid GP’s Dan Wells.

“I made a good start and managed to pass Oscar King on the first corner,” said Wells. “During the opening stages of the race I was really struggling with the pace of the car in the dry.

“Unfortunately I then had to stop in the pits as my engine was overheating, so when I got back on track I just tried to be as consistent as I could. I only noticed on the last few laps that I had a damaged rear wing, so I concentrated solely on getting to the finish.”

‘Did Not Finish’ was registered next to the names of Powell – who made contact with the chicane, Oliver Rowland – who made contact with Ellinas, Josh Hill – who spun off the track, and yesterday’s winner Jack Hawksworth whose race ended after 10 laps.

There now follows a seven week break until the next rounds of the championship, but for Lynn there’s an introduction to the Lotus Renault GP team at Valencia next weekend. This comes thanks to Lotus Motorsport as a prize for him leading the championships standings at the mid-way of the season.

The championship resumes at Norfolk’s Snetterton circuit for rounds eleven and twelve on August 6-7.

Round ten top ten results
1. Alex Lynn Fortec Motorsport 15 laps
2. Mitchell Gilbert Fortec Motorsport +11.454s G
3. Jordan King Manor Competition +13.985s G
4. Pedro Pablo Calbimonte Fortec Motorsport +38.877s
5. Oscar King Atech Reid GP +45.614s G
6. Daniel Cammish Mark Burdett Motorsport +49.161s
7. Tio Ellinas Atech Reid GP +1 lap
8. Dan Wells Atech Reid GP + 2 laps
9. Jack Hawksworth Atech Reid GP DNF
10. Josh Hill Manor Competition DNF

Championship standings after Croft
1. Alex Lynn Fortec Motorsport 318 pts
2. Tio Ellinas Atech Reid GP 260 pts
3. Oliver Rowland Fortec Motorsport 195 pts G
4. Jack Hawksworth Atech Reid GP 185 pts
5. Mitchell Gilbert Fortec Motorsport 152 pts G
6. Ollie Millroy Manor Competition 152 pts
7. Josh Hill Manor Competition 148 pts
8. Jordan King Manor Competition 127 pts G
9. Oscar King Atech Reid GP 121 pts G
10. Dan Wells Atech Reid GP 107 pts

Results and standings for media purposes only, of no regulatory value

A full set of timing results and championship standings can be found here: www.tsl-timing.com

About frenaultuk

The CERTINA Formula Renault 2.0 UK is the country's leading single seater championship and has launched many Formula One racing careers.
This entry was posted in 9 & 10 Croft and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

