Lynn back on pole

Fortec Motorsport’s Alex Lynn restored proceedings as he placed his Formula Renault on pole position for Sunday’s round 10 of the Formula Renault 2.0 UK Championship at Croft.

Lynn, who has dominated the series this season, mastered the difficult weather conditions to take pole position with a lap of 1min 17.129secs at the rain-swept track in the north east of England.

“The session went really well for us,” said Lynn. “I feel very comfortable with track and the current conditions which meant that it was pretty straight forward. Looking ahead to tomorrow’s race, if I get the right start then I am confident of being on the top step of the podium.”

Second fastest, with a season-best performance was Lynn’s team-mate, Mitchell Gilbert.

“I’m very happy to line on the grid in second,” said Gilbert. “The track conditions have certainly improved from this morning. I think that we were running a slightly different set-up to Alex this afternoon which should be interesting in the race.”

Manor Competition’s Alice Powell qualified third. “We had a brilliant session and I am very happy to finish in the top 3 for the team,” said Powell.

“I think that we could have got a bit more out of the car as I left it quite late to do my run but it’s good to know that we have the pace. I am certainly going to go out there tomorrow to get a solid podium position but I would like to make Alex work hard at the front.”

Starting alongside Powell will be second in the championship, Tio Ellinas. “I had a very difficult session out there this afternoon,” said the Atech Reid GP driver.

“I found that the track was very slippery so struggled to get grip. I also had an issue with the car which meant that I had quite a bit of oversteer, so going into tomorrow’s race I know that there is more to come from the car. I will be aiming for a podium in the race but as you know, anything can happen in racing so a win isn’t out of reach.”

Round ten top ten qualifying times
1. Alex Lynn Fortec Motorsport 1:17.129s
2. Mitchell Gilbert Fortec Motorsport 1:17.727s G
3. Alice Powell Manor Competition 1:17.851s G
4. Tio Ellinas Atech Reid GP 1:17.857s
5. Oliver Rowland Fortec Motorsport 1:17.930s G
6. Jack Hawksworth Atech Reid GP 1:17.931s
7. Josh Hill Manor Competition 1:17.938s
8. Oscar King Fortec Motorsport 1:18.036s G
9. Jordan King Manor Competition 1:18.211s G
10. Pedro Pablo Calbimonte Fortec Motorsport 1:18.290s

About frenaultuk

The CERTINA Formula Renault 2.0 UK is the country's leading single seater championship and has launched many Formula One racing careers.
This entry was posted in 2011 Reports, 9 & 10 Croft and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

