Hawksworth takes pole with new team

Jack Hawksworth took pole position for round nine of the Formula Renault 2.0 UK Championship in difficult conditions at Croft.

Hawksworth, in his debut qualifying session for the Atech Reid GP squad after a mid-season swap, mastered the difficult drying circuit mid-session before rain started to fall again, denying any of his rivals the opportunity to displace him from the P1 position for this afternoon’s race.

“That was a very enjoyable session,” said Hawksworth, who started his season with Mark Burdett Motorsport.

“I wasn’t really sure what to expect when we first went out on track, it was quite greasy which made it very easy to make mistakes but once I got used to the conditions we were very quick. I’m confident of making a good start later and I will be going for the win”.

Second fastest was Fortec Motorsport’s championship leader, Alex Lynn. “It was quite greasy out there but I felt that I dealt with the conditions well,” said Lynn.

“I feel that I could have gone better, so I am slightly disappointed to be starting the race in second. I’m confident that I will be able to make a good start and lead the race early on and challenge for a win this afternoon.”

Hawksworth’s team-mate Tio Ellinas set the third fastest time. “It was difficult at the start of the session to discover what the best lines were on the track in the wet,” said Ellinas.

“I felt that I could have gone quicker in the session as I had quite a few issues with traffic on the track. I think that if I can make a good start I can push Alex and Jack for the victory this afternoon.”

Josh Hill was the fastest Manor Competition competitor with the fifth fastest time. “Conditions were very tricky out there,” said Josh.

“I had an off and which may have affected the handling on the car, so we struggled for pace slightly after. Looking ahead to the race this afternoon, I think that I will certainly be in the position to challenge for a podium and if it carries on raining then maybe a win is even achievable.”

This afternoon sees qualifying for round ten as well as the round 9 race take place.

Round 9 qualifying top ten
1. Jack Hawksworth Atech Reid GP 1:25.112
2. Alex Lynn Fortec Motorsport 1:25.457
3. Tio Ellinas Atech Reid GP 1:25.462
4. Oliver Rowland Fortec Motorsport 1:25.475
5. Josh Hill Manor Competition 1:26.097
6. Mitchell Gilbert Fortec Motorsport 1:26.198
7. Dan Wells Atech Reid GP 1:26.239
8. Dan Cammish Mark Burdett Motorsport 1:26.393
9. Alice Powell Manor Competition 1:26.451
10. Oscar King Atech Reid GP 1:26.608

About frenaultuk

The CERTINA Formula Renault 2.0 UK is the country's leading single seater championship and has launched many Formula One racing careers.
This entry was posted in 2011 Reports, 9 & 10 Croft and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

