Rowland and Gilbert lead the way at Croft


Fortec Motorsport’s Ollie Rowland and Mitchell Gilbert led the way in testing at Croft Circuit ahead of the rounds 9&10 of the Formula Renault 2.0 UK Championship this weekend.

Rowland topped the times in the morning session setting a time of 1 minute 16.937s ahead of championship leader and team-mate Alex Lynn.

“I’m pleased with the way that the session went this morning,” said Rowland. “I think that we can be on the pace for the duration of the weekend. If it rains like it’s meant to tomorrow then I think that I will be at a real advantage. I would really like to get some wins here to turn the championship around.”

Second in the morning’s practice session was Fortec Motorsport’s championship leader Alex Lynn, who next weekend heads to the European Grand Prix as a guest of Lotus Motorsport as a reward for leading the championship at the half-way point.

Manor Competition’s Jordan King ended the practice session in a notable fourth. “I’m really happy how both sessions went today for me,” said the series rookie. “I think that I have already shown that I am quick this season but a few things haven’t gone my way. I think that I can be on the pace this weekend and hopefully I will manage to get on the podium.”

Mitchell Gilbert led the way in the afternoon session, setting a best time of 1 minute 17.009s. “I’m very happy to have set the fastest time and I think it shows I am really getting to grips with the FRUK chassis,” said Gilbert. “I think that realistically tomorrow I can achieve a third placing or higher to put me in good stead for Sunday and hopefully more podium finishes.”

Atech Reid GP’s Tio Ellinas set the second fastest time of the session. “I’m quite pleased with second place in that session,” said the title contender. “We struggled with grip this morning and I have only been round here once previously in the pre-season test. I hope that I can qualify well tomorrow and come away from the weekend with a good amount of points.”

Atech Reid GP’s new driver Jack Hawksworth showed that he could also be a dark horse this weekend as he got to grips with his new car straight away and ended the session in fourth.

Test times am
1. Oliver Rowland Fortec Motorsport 1.16.937s G
2. Alex Lynn Fortec Motorsport 1.17.013s
3. Tio Ellinas Atech Reid GP 1.17.389s
4. Jordan King Manor Competition 1.17.545s G
5. Mitchell Gilbert Fortec Motorsport 1.17.790s G
6. Alice Powell Manor Competition 1.18.138s G
7. Daniel Cammish Mark Burdett Motorsport 1.18.163s
8. Dan Wells Atech Reid GP 1.18.489s
9. Oscar King Atech Reid GP 1.18.504s G
10. Jack Hawksworth Atech Reid GP 1.18.640s

Test times pm
1. Mitchell Gilbert Fortec Motorsport 1.17.099s G
2. Tio Ellinas Atech Reid GP 1.17.295s
3. Jordan King Manor Competition 1.17.471s G
4. Jack Hawksworth Atech Reid GP 1.17.505s
5. Oliver Rowland Fortec Motorsport 1.17.558s G
6. Alex Lynn Fortec Motorsport 1.17.612s
7. Alice Powell Manor Competition 1.17.630s G
8. Daniel Cammish Mark Burdett Motorsport 1.17.657s
9. Josh Hill Manor Competition 1.17.691s
10. Oscar King Atech Reid GP 1.17.822s G

About frenaultuk

The CERTINA Formula Renault 2.0 UK is the country's leading single seater championship and has launched many Formula One racing careers.
This entry was posted in 2011 Reports, 9 & 10 Croft and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

