Double pole for Lynn at Oulton

Alex Lynn (Fortec Motorsport) took double pole positions at Oulton Park today for Sunday’s rounds 7 and 8 of the Formula Renault 2.0 UK Championship after putting what is fast becoming a trademark display of qualifying dominance, even with the additional pressure of a red flagged and restarted morning session.

Lynn set his first pole of the day with an inspired effort with just 1min 49secs of open session after an earlier red flag halted proceedings when Jack Hawksworth (Mark Burdett Motorsport) had an off at the left-hand Cascades corner. He timed his lap to perfection to go fastest in that session, then delivered a pole in the second qualifying session by the bigger margin of over three tenths of a second.

“I’m very happy with the way today went,” said Lynn. “I felt that I really put it together better in the afternoon compared to this morning. The morning session was difficult and very competitive. I was trying too hard early on which affected some of the times that I put in but I managed to sort that out and set a competitive time in the nick of time at the last attempt.”

Second fastest in the morning session, Hawksworth was forced to sit out much of the afternoon qualifying because of an electrical problem and will start from last position in tomorrow’s second race.

“I enjoyed the morning session after showing that the pace was good on the car in testing yesterday,” said Hawksworth. “I’m a bit disappointed that I didn’t manage to get pole but I’m confident for tomorrow and will be going all out for the win – I’m not fazed by any of the drivers at the front. I’m very disappointed about my grid position for the second race, so I’m hoping for some rain to help me move my way forwards through the field.”

Starting from P3 in round 7, and P5 in race two is former championship points leader, Tio Ellinas (Atech Reid GP), who has been displaced to second in the points standings following the reinstatement of Lynn’s previously disqualified win from Donington Park, earlier in the year.

“They were hard sessions for me today due to the amount of pressure that I placed on myself,” said Ellinas. “That showed when I over did it going into Old Hall corner in the morning, and the red flag didn’t help the situation as I knew that I still needed to improve my time.

“I am still very confident for the race however and aim to be right up there with Alex but I know that consistency is key in the title race.”

Starting from alongside Lynn in tomorrow’s second race, as well as from fourth in the first is Oliver Rowland (Fortec Motorsport).

“The qualifying sessions went really well for us,” he said. “I’m convinced that we could have gone quicker as I felt that every lap that I did wasn’t perfect, there was definitely still room for improvement. The car is feeling great round here so I’m determined to push Alex all the way tomorrow for the win”.

Offering the reverse of Hawksworth’s woes, after crashing out of the first qualifying session, Mitchell Gilbert (Fortec Motorsport) bounced back to go third fastest for the latter race, rather better than the last place from which he will start in round 7.

“I’m absolute delighted with third place, especially after the bad luck that we had in the first session,” said Gilbert. “I certainly feel like I have shown that I can compete with Alex and Olliver, and I am very confident that I can get the right start to make that happen”.

Round 7 of the Formula Renault 2.0 UK Championship starts at 13:00 tomorrow, with round 8 starting at 17:45. Both races can be viewed live on ITV4 and ITV4 HD.

Round seven top ten qualifying times
1. Alex Lynn Fortec Motorsport 1:19.187s
2. Jack Hawksworth Mark Burdett Motorsport 1:19.247s
3. Tio Ellinas Atech Reid GP 1:19.303s
4. Oliver Rowland Fortec Motorsport 1:19.493s G
5. Jordan King Manor Competition 1:19.671s G
6. Daniel Cammish Mark Burdett Motorsport 1:19.808s
7. Oscar King Atech Reid GP 1:19.891s G
8. Dan Wells Atech Reid GP 1:19.937s
9. Felix Serralies Fortec Competition 1:19.993s
10. Alice Powell Manor Competition 1:20.121s G

Round eight top ten qualifying times
1. Alex Lynn Fortec Motorsport 1:18.996s
2. Oliver Rowland Fortec Motorsport 1:19.340s G
3. Mitchell Gilbert Fortec Motorsport 1:19.470s G
4. Felix Serralies Fortec Motorsport 1:19.634s
5. Tio Ellinas Atech Reid GP 1:19.724s
6. Alice Powell Manor Competition 1:19.819sG
7. Dan Wells Atech Reid GP 1:19.865s
8. Oscar King Fortec Motorsport 1:19.916s G
9. Josh Hill Manor Competition 1:19.934s
10. Daniel Cammish Mark Burdett Motorsport 1:20.022s

A full set of timing results can be found here: http://www.tsl-timing.com

-ends-

About frenaultuk

The CERTINA Formula Renault 2.0 UK is the country's leading single seater championship and has launched many Formula One racing careers.
This entry was posted in 2011 Reports, 7 & 8 Oulton Park and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

